George Crumb — Madrigals

George Crumb’s Madrigals is a series of four books of musical settings of fragments of poetry by Gabriel Garcia Lorca. Each book has a different instrumentation, which includes:

Book I: Soprano, Vibraphone, Double Bass
Book II: Soprano, Percussion, Flute (doubling alto flute and piccolo)

Book III: Soprano, Percussion, Harp
Book IV: Soprano, Flute, Percussion, Harp, Bass

The four books together last about 32 minutes in performance

-Annotated by Noah Rosen