Composer: Drew Schweppe

Title: Initial Thoughts

Category: Marimba Solo

Instrumentation: Marimba (5.0 Octave)

Difficulty: Advanced

Publisher: Available from composer


Marimba Solo in 3 Movements

  1. Thought
  2. Reflection
  3. Cognitive Interruption


This piece was commissioned and premiered by Daniel Pessalano. Written in three movements, Initial Thoughts is a coming of age.  The first movement, Thought depicts an adjustment to new experiences and situations.  Reflection is a step away from the pressures of these new experiences and reality.  Finally, Cognitive Interruption is a mental breakdown with moments of clarity.


Annotated by Dan Pessalano