Argoru VII (1994)

Alvin Singleton (1940)

Solo Vibraphone

Argoru VII is an exercise in Alvin Singleton’s methods of extreme contrasts. Fast, ascending grace note scales are followed by soft, memory evocative long tones. The contrasts of the quick and the long passages become miniature call-and-response dramas while pedal schott aktuell tremolandi suggest a certain mystery. Singleton’s fondness for drama, economy of means, unpredictability, and contrast are on display in this elegant sounding piece for vibraphone. This work was commissioned by the Music Teacher’s National Association and the Georgia Music Teacher’s Association.”

–Program Note from Schott Music Publishing Company


Annotated by Wesley Fowler