From My Little Island

Robert Aldridge

This an advanced level solo for 5 octave marimba with 4 mallets.

The work is divided into 7 movements

  • Theme
  • Tango
  • Dance of Passion
  • Sad Song
  • Hymn
  • Sweet Song
  • Folk Song

Each movement explores a single idea, developing it through rhythmic and harmonic development with almost all of the music written in a ‘motto perpetuo’ style. The whole work is very tonal, which makes for a very straight forward listening experience.

Duration – 20′

Published by C. F. Peters

Annotated by Jeremy Barnett