Composer: Alejandro Vinao

Title: Estudios de Frontera

These two etudes for 5 percussionists were commissioned by the Peabody Conservatory in 2004. Composed to have a specifically ethnic feel, each etude has a character of its own. The first requires specially made mallets, with instructions in the performance notes. The second is about discontinuity, which is created by the melody’s movement between different instruments and players.


  • 3 Marimbas (2 5-octaves, 1 4.3-octave)
  • Xylophone
  • Vibraphone
  • Glockenspiel
  • Tubular Bells (2 octaves)
  • Bongos
  • congas
  • 4 tom-toms
  • Gran Cassa
  • 2 whistles
  • Claves
  • Guiro
  • Vibraslap (mounted to a stand)
  • Medium size cymbal
  • Large cymbal

Annotated by Ethan Pani